Top 10 Hunters in Animal Kingdom


10 Tarantula spiders

Tarantulas form a subset of the Theraphosidae family of large and sometimes ′′hairy′′ spiders. There are currently about 1,000 species known. The 5 inch body size and 11 inch leg span make them one of the highly professional animal hunters. Actually they are nocturnal predators, they hide near where small insects fly by, they make a sudden dive on the sight. The large tarantula fangs help them kill the prey quickly, no insects can hope a tarantula survival. Often, they used to feed rodents, frogs and small birds.

9 Black Mamba

The black mamba is a species of large, extremely venomous snake that belongs to the Elapidae family. This is native to the sub-Saharan African regions. A developed black mamba is 14 feet long and will lift their head to one third of the total length of their body. We normally hunt for large-sized preys like primates, and they often feed on small animals and birds. Black mambas raise their head while hunting, bite the prey repeatedly once they sense the prey making rapid forward movement. These often pursue prey for limited distance if these try to flee. Or larger black mambas preys make bites in sequence.

8 Piranha

A piranha or piraña, a member of the Serrasalmidae family, or a member of the Serrasalminae subfamily within the tetra family, Characidae in Characiformes order, is a freshwater fish inhabiting South American rivers, floodplains, lakes and reservoirs. Some of the world’s most aggressive fishes, lives on rivers in South America. Their strong jaws can easily crush a human within 10 seconds, using very powerful jaws and sharp teeth they used to hunt a wide variety of preys, including humans. Their special sensory organs also assist in detecting blood at water.

7 Gray Wolf

The wolf is a large canine native to Eurasia and North America, also known as the white wolf or the black wolf. More than thirty subspecies of Canis lupus have been recognized, and the gray wolves include non-domestic / feral subspecies as known colloquially. They never strike their ground on a prey. The preys like moose, elk and muskoxen typically do not move from their location, they are scared by Gray wolfs into running. They strike from all sides for smaller preys, but they concentrated on the back and the sides for larger preys to avoid attacking from them. Each gray wolf is capable of socuming nine kilograms of meat in one sitting.

6 Komodo Dragon

The Komodo dragon, also known as the Komodo monitor, is a lizard species found on the Komodo, Rinca, Flores, and Gili Motang islands of Indonesia. They weigh up to 70 kilograms, and reach 10 feet in length. Komodo dragons have a good sense of odour. This helps them find the preys even from a distance of 10 kilometres. When the correct preys move near komodo dragon, sudden attack is made. Using their heavy tails they strike down the targeted preys like pigs and deers and make poisonous bites. Komodo dragon uses their strong skulls and jaws to digest the smaller preys, eating huge amounts of meat in one sitting.

5 Crocodile

Crocodiles or true crocodiles are large semiaquatic reptiles which live in Africa, Asia , the Americas and Australia throughout the tropics. Crocodylinae, all of whose members are considered true crocodiles, are classified as a subfamily of biological origin. One of the effective marine predators, crocodiles feed on a wide variety of animals such as buffaloes, zebras, wild boars, etc. Crocodiles are hunters of ambush, they wait for the preys that come for drinking water at the edges of the forest. When crocodiles come within the range, they make a sudden assault. Their stomach also has the ability to digest the preys of every kind of bones and horns.

4 Killer Whale

The orca or killer whale is a toothed whale that belongs to the family of oceanic dolphins of which it is the largest member. Killer whales have a varied diet but different types of prey are also selected by individual populations. Killer whales make hunting parties of up to 40 individuals. Growing community uses various types of techniques to capture different types of preys. In the underwater they make sound and when it bounces back they find the location of aquatic preys.

3 Grizzly Bear

The grizzly bear, also known as the brown bear of North America or simply grizzly, is a large population or subspecies of the brown bear that inhabits North America. An adult grizzly bear weight ranging from 320 to 370 kilograms and about 7 feet tall. Their huge paws and strong jaws help them quickly search for large animals such as moose, elk, deer, bison, and bighorn sheep. This bear’s 40 miles per hour pace also aids in pursuing the preys. They are very good at swimming, knows where to find, particularly salmon, large groups of fish, catch them quickly when they run.

2 Lion

The lion is a species of the Felidae family, and a member of the Panthera genus. With its muscular, deep-seated body, short , rounded head, round ears, and a hairy tuft at the end of its tail, it is most identifiable. This is sexually dimorphic; it has a distinctive mane in adult male lions. Normally they party together for hunting, lioness mostly lead the hunting, at that time male lion takes care of the younger ones. When they noticed their prey’s herd concentrated on the nearest prey and immediately made an assault. The sudden and strong neck-bite causes death to pry in no time, no chance to escape.

1 Great White Shark

The great white shark, also known as the great white, white shark or “silver pointer,” is a species of large mackerel shark that can be found in any of the major oceans’ coastal surface waters. It is the world’s largest killer fish, ranges in length from 6 feet to 20 feet, weights up to 2500 kilograms. Usually they feed on sea lions, whales, tortoises, sea otters, etc. They have rather 300 sharp, triangular serrated teeth arranged inside various raws. Their keen sense of smell helps spot the preys from a distance of miles. Great white sharks make a sudden assault from below, using strong jaws and teeth to smash the preys.